Two HCSD Principals Named to MDE Council

Two HCSD Principals Named to MDE Advisory Council

(HARRISON COUNTY, MS) Congratulations to two administrators in the Harrison County School District on being selected to serve on the State Superintendent of Education’s inaugural Principal Advisory Council! The Mississippi Department of Education announced this week that Harrison County Alternative School Principal Dr. Regina Watts and River Oaks Elementary Principal Dr. Shelly Simmons are among 29 members of this new group.

Dr. Regina WattsDr. Shelly Simmons

The Council (PAC) provides direct input to Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education, about important issues in Mississippi schools. Members will participate in discussions with Wright concerning topics that will lead to the improvement of Mississippi public schools and the opportunities they afford. The goal of the council is to ensure excellent teaching and learning is happening in every classroom in every Mississippi school and that school leaders have the information, resources, and support they need to create successful schools.

“The Principal Advisory Council will be an important feedback loop for me understanding what is working and what needs improvement in schools,” Wright said. “I look forward to working with these thoughtful and engaging school leaders to improve educational opportunities for students,” said Wright.

More than 60 principals applied to become a member of the first cohort of principals, and each completed application was carefully reviewed. The Council includes school leaders from elementary, middle, and high schools across the state and reflects the diverse school districts in Mississippi. PAC members will serve through the 2021-22 school year.

Click here to see the complete list of PAC members from across the state: MDE Announces Inaugural State Superintendent of Education’s Principal Advisory Council Members | The Mississippi Department of Education (